Jul 23rd, 9:52 am

Digging into Comingzune.com

Well first off a quick recap in case you have been living under a rock for past few days. The Zune name has been confirmed and is now been officially used as an umbrella brand for what Microsoft says is “a family of hardware and software productsâ€? targeting various digital entertainment services, which should be out around November/Christmas time (great time to release a product, don’t ya think?) Any ways with this announcement a curious site popped up, that site is comingzune.com. This site is said to be Microsoft’s viral marketing campaign for the Zune.

Now I was a bit curious, it all didn’t really make sense to me, (specially the rabbit and the characters :S) so I did a Whois look up on the domain and a few interesting things came up. Now this might all be just me and I would love for someone to prove me wrong and set it all straight for me.

So here is the link to the Whois look up: http://whois.domaintools.com/comingzune.com We will also compare this Whois look up with a known Microsoft domain, Live.com http://whois.domaintools.com/live.com
So this is what I found interesting:

  • Firs off, the DNS, It does not point to the Microsoft’s normal DNS. If you look at the Live.com one, it is pointing to ns3.msft.net, a Microsoft DNS (Domain Name Server) While comingzune.com is pointing to PARK27.SECURESERVER.NET
  • Secondly, most obvious thing is that on the Whois look up I do not see any thing “Microsoft” No Microsoft emails, no address no nothing that hints that this is Microsoft.
  • The register is Godaddy.com Now from all the Microsoft domains I have looked up they are registered with Register.com not godaddy.com
  • The date it was registered was the 13-Jul-06 Now don’t you think Microsoft would of registered this before they Zune info was “leaked” like they did with ZuneLive.com, registering it on the May 24, 2006. The Zune was leaked 3 to 4 days prior to this domain being registered.

Now I don’t know about you but these facts really do put doubt in my mind that this is really Microsoft’s site and their viral marketing campaign that every one seems to be making out that it is. If someone could also provide a link to me of where Microsoft announces that this is their site that would also be good.
I will also add that these are my own opinions and I could be wrong. If so, I would love for someone to prove me wrong and show me something I might of missed or over looked.

If you would like to discuss this more, please visit the thread on the ZuneInfo.com Forums.

Make a Comment

RSS feed | Trackback URI


12 Comments »

Comment by Richard
2006-07-23 16:25:55

Good but dig a bit more. The whois shows Domains By Proxy. Checkout www.domainsbyproxy.com and I think it will be perfectly clear.

 
Comment by zune
2006-07-24 01:10:21

I believe you zuneinfo. that whole site is a scam!

 
Comment by Ryan
2006-07-24 03:37:17

I believe the site is a con because it seems to me that Terms and Conditions have been ripped and copied off a previous Microsoft site as the copyright is 2004.And yet Microsoft didn’t even have plans of releasing a music player until last year.And wouldn’t they have updated it to 2006 if it’s a new site?

 
Comment by Ryan
2006-07-24 04:12:43

I have confirmation now that the site is real from two inside soruces!Two people who are actually working on the zune.They both have sites and i’ve reported those sites as news to zuneinfo.com

 
Comment by coops8D
2006-07-24 04:17:28

Nice Ryan,
But do you have any thing to back this up? a link or something?

 
Comment by coops8D
2006-07-24 04:23:47

Ahh yeah I got your email Ryan, that site has been all over the place mate. I even have talked about it in a previous post before.

 
Comment by Fab
2006-07-25 05:23:13

Given that Zune is “a family of hardware and software products�, what about this other Zune?

http://www.aros.org/documentation/developers/zune-application-development.php#what-is-zune

“Zune is an object-oriented GUI toolkit. It is nearly a clone (at both API and Look&Feel level) of MUI, a well-known Amiga shareware product by Stefan Stuntz. So MUI developers will feel at home here; others will discover the concepts and qualities that Zune shares with MUI.”

AROS’ Zune has existed since 1998.

 
Comment by JMC
2006-07-26 10:46:32

I’m a former Microsoft web developer. Microsoft outsources nearly EVERYTHING. All of those bullet-points simply point to the fact that they hired a design firm to build and host that site. Getting a web site set up on Microsoft’s “official” web hosting servers is such a complex process, it would be insane to go through all that for this tiny teaser site. That’s why it’s hosted elsewhere.

 
Comment by coops8D
2006-07-26 11:04:01

Interesting….

Thank you very much for your input. So you do believe or know that this site is real and is Microsoft’s viral marketing site?

 
Trackback by cbs sportsline nba
2007-01-18 15:44:19

cbs sportsline nba…

gimmemoney 427876 Very actual information about cbs sportsline nba….

 
Comment by John_qqiz
2007-04-12 08:25:51

Keep working!

 
2008-01-26 17:23:12

Happy New Year and Merry Christmas!

primary game christmas | http://rubyurl.com/PEV | christmas movie trivia | http://rubyurl.com/n6d | bag christmas shopping | http://rubyurl.com/oD6 | christmas light tester | http://rubyurl.com/KtL | christmas kid vacation | http://rubyurl.com/N7f | before christmas night | http://rubyurl.com/Djj | christmas cactus bloom | http://rubyurl.com/fow | best christmas present | http://rubyurl.com/Pqu | christmas friend merry | http://rubyurl.com/k9z | white christmas ticket | http://rubyurl.com/M3h | bethlehem christmas mr | http://rubyurl.com/8dh | christmas open present | http://rubyurl.com/1l1 | christmas present baby | http://rubyurl.com/aSl | cheetah christmas girl | http://rubyurl.com/UiU | disney christmas music | http://rubyurl.com/G4z | christmas cocktail eve | http://rubyurl.com/yVP | candle christmas taper | http://rubyurl.com/2Bz | christmas tree picture | http://rubyurl.com/9Xx | christmas present 2008 | http://rubyurl.com/RVd | christmas carols child | http://rubyurl.com/2Ee | christmas cookie plate | http://rubyurl.com/LOT | christmas card catalog | http://rubyurl.com/wZA | christmas light street | http://rubyurl.com/rxD | merry little christmas | http://rubyurl.com/1Zl | christmas craft german | http://rubyurl.com/QHw | christmas london party | http://rubyurl.com/y2V | christmas cookie light | http://rubyurl.com/8vt | maine christmas wreath | http://rubyurl.com/6xn | break christmas winter | http://rubyurl.com/IaQ | white christmas wreath | http://rubyurl.com/N9c | christmas candy wreath | http://rubyurl.com/bjr | outdoor christmas ball | http://rubyurl.com/Adc | muppet christmas carol | http://rubyurl.com/ojl | christmas storage tree | http://rubyurl.com/7KE | christmas store window | http://rubyurl.com/RBv | christmas donate light | http://rubyurl.com/n9b | christmas window light | http://rubyurl.com/gSw | christmas eve sarajevo | http://rubyurl.com/SXX | lighted christmas tree | http://rubyurl.com/346 | christmas winter scene | http://rubyurl.com/LDC | christmas museum story | http://rubyurl.com/ewN | mikasa christmas story | http://rubyurl.com/KjI | christmas manger scene | http://rubyurl.com/SSF | christmas carol author | http://rubyurl.com/StS | girl christmas present | http://rubyurl.com/S6P | unusual christmas gift | http://rubyurl.com/HbL | spanish christmas song | http://rubyurl.com/Z42 | christmas cactus plant | http://rubyurl.com/EYb | christmas disney party | http://rubyurl.com/GjD | disney christmas store | http://rubyurl.com/K2A

Thanks!
If you don’t wish to receive such messages, please send your domain name to jj([at])dedik_dot_biz to remove your site from our list.

 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong> in your comment.